Dawa Phunkyi, Jigme Jugney tops U-Tsang prelims, final voting September 4

Lug 20, 2011 No Commenti da

Dharamshala: The Tibetan Election Commission in a press conference today declared the preliminary list of ten candidates for the two vacant seats of the U-Tsang province in the 15th Tibetan Parliament.

The list was topped by Mr Dawa Phunkyi with 3691 votes and Mr Jigme Jugney with 3156 votes. They were the only two candidates securing more than 20 percent of the actual 15,455 votes casted during the preliminary elections held on June 19.

Mr Jamphel Choesang, chief election commissioner declaring the list of candidates said that the final voting for the two U-Tsang seats earlier scheduled for September 11 has been preponed to September 4, 2011.

“We have decided to prepone the final elections to September 4”, Mr Choesang said. “This move has been taken in order for the newly elected parliamentarians to sit during the upcoming session of the Tibetan Parliament-in-exile beginning September 16”.

The last date for candidates to withdraw their names from the current list is July 22 following which Mr Choesang said the Election Commission will draw the final list of candidates.

“In keeping with the Charter of the Tibetans in exile, the Election Commission will declare the names of the top four standing candidates in its list of final candidates for the elections on September 4”, Mr Choesang told reporters.

Considering the election expenditure incurred upon the Central Tibetan Administration, Mr Choesang said that it was in everybody’s interest to have a consolidated voting pattern so that candidates can have the stipulated 33 percent of votes in order to be eligible parliamentarians. During the general elections held in March last, the number nine and ten elected U-Tsang candidates had failed to secure the required 33 percent of votes.

The names of the ten candidates, in order of votes secured, in the list issued by the Election Commission today are as follows: Mr Dawa Phunkyi 3691 votes, Mr Jigme Jugney 3156 votes, Mr Urgyen Tenzin 2486 votes, Mr Pema Dorjee 1693 votes, Mr Tseten Norbu 1415 votes, Mr Rinchen Tsering 1363 votes, Mr Tsering Wangchuk 1335 votes, Mr Sonam Sangpo 1179 votes, Mr Godruk Kalsang Phuntsok 1015 votes, Mr Janyel Tsering Lhakyab 987 votes.

fonte phayul.com


Info sull'autore

L’associazione ha lo scopo di promuovere la conoscenza della cultura tibetana

Fatal error: Call to undefined function wp_related_posts() in /nfs/c06/h05/mnt/93642/domains/tibetculturehouseitaly.org/html/wp-content/themes/tibet/single.php on line 100